Elected Representatives

All Councillors, including Mayor and Deputy Mayor, are elected by the community every four years.  Click on each councillor’s name below to see their full personal profiles.

A council is elected to provide leadership for the good governance of the municipality. It must consider the community's diverse needs in its decision-making, setting and monitoring strategic objectives and ensure resources are managed sustainably and responsibly. A key objective of a council is to work towards achieving the best outcomes for the local community whilst considering the long-term and cumulative effects of decisions.

Several related documents are linked at the end of this page, including the Councillors’ Code of Conduct. 

Giovanna Simpson

Deputy Mayor

  • Telephone0490 282 095
  • Email gsimpson@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileGiovanna Simpson was first elected at the 2018 election. Her priority is to continue promoting our city by working with the people of Burnie.

Ken Dorsey


  • Telephone0419 595 033
  • Email kdorsey@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Dorsey was elected to Council for the second time in 2018. He is passionate about making change that will move Burnie forward with direction and purpose.

Justin Grave


  • Telephone0491 051 544
  • Email jgrave@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Justin Grave (Gravy) was elected to Council in 2022. Justin lives in Heybridge and is the Director of Flex Realty.

Amina Keygan


  • Telephone0438 168 258
  • Email akeygan@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Keygan was elected to Council for the second time in 2018. She is passionate about providing better roads, parks and services, while lowering rates.

Steve Kons


  • Telephone0407 361 303
  • Email skons@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileSteve Kons was elected to Council for the fourth time in 2022. He is passionate about promoting the city he has lived in for 30+ years.

Chris Lynch


  • Telephone0419 537 697
  • Email clynch@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor Lynch was elected to Council for the second time in 2018 and is passionate about helping community and sporting groups as well as school organisations in the Burnie area.

David Pease


  • Telephone0417 330 329
  • Email dpease@burnie.tas.gov.au
  • ProfileCouncillor David Pease was elected in 2018. David lives in Burnie and is General Manager of his 94-year-old family business A.H. Pease Shoe Stores.

Related Information


Councillor Policies